Getting a fishing license in Nebraska is necessary for a myriad of reasons, but the most common and well-known one is that the money gathered from these funds is used to protect and conserve the species that you are looking to target in the future.
In this state, you have the chance of catching a beautiful rainbow trout or a largemouth bass with ease. The area is packed with a plethora of breathtaking freshwater lakes, so there’s plenty of fishing opportunities to choose from. The licenses are sold by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, which is responsible for setting the price on a yearly basis. The same agency deals with protecting and preserving the game and fish resources of the state.
Just like in any other American state, you are required a fishing license if you are above the age of 16. People younger than 16 can fish without a permit, although they do have to provide identification in case a law officer requires them to do so. Fee-exempt permits can be given to those who are veterans, those who are older than 69, and any physically or developmentally disabled individuals who cannot cast without the assistance of another person.
Licenses are available as multi-year, annual, 3-day, or 1-day permits. Something that needs to be noted about this type of license is that the price varies from those designed for residents and those intended for non-residents. While the cost can vary from one year to the next, one thing’s for sure. Those for non-residents are considerably pricier compared to those that Nebraska residents can purchase.
As the money you’ll have to spend on a permit is the subject of continuous changes, we suggest checking out the Outdoornebraska.gov website in order for you to find out how much you have to get out of your wallet. At the time this article was written, a Nebraska resident had to pay just ten dollars for a one-day fishing permit while a non-resident had to purchase a $13 license.
It is also essential to look for the daily bag limits before deciding to go on a fishing trip to Nebraska. For example, you are allowed to have in possession no more than two trout and three white or striped bass. On the other hand, you can fish as many as ten Northern pike and just as many catfish. An important note in this sense is that these rules apply per specific areas, so do your homework instead of accidentally breaking the law.
In no circumstances are you allowed to:
- Use the permit belonging to someone else
- Abandon dead fish in any areas of a water, be it a stream or a lake
- Fish on private land without having received the express permission of the landowner
- Leave the fish you’ve caught in a trap for over twenty-four hours
- Catch any species by hand
- Consume alcohol at a wildlife management area or at Lake McConaughy State Recreation Area
Other restrictions you ought to be aware of range from the fact that you are not allowed to carry white perch to other bodies of water where it does not live. Unfortunately, this species can affect ecosystems, which is why this rule is necessary. Any fish or baitfish you have caught cannot be dumped in any public water.
If you plan on engaging in some ice fishing, it is a good idea to know that you are allowed to use all-terrain and motorized vehicles, as well as snowmobiles on the frozen surface of the lakes listed on the official Nebraska Game and Parks website.