The state of Kansas implements fishing regulations by its Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism. You can fish in any of the five regions and pick your location by using apps, GPS and PDF files.
As a resident, if you’re aged 16 to 74 years old, you must own a license to start fishing in Kansas. Nonresidents over 16 years have to get one, too.
You can only skip this step if you’re a landowner or a farm tenant. You and your family can fish on the waters that lie on your land. However, to fish in streams and rivers, you need a valid fishing license.
American Indians are exempt from paying a fee for their license, but they must observe all other laws and regulations.
To enjoy fishing for the 20 fish species in Kansas you have to observe the rules concerning legal equipment. You can carry two rods with no more than two single or treble hooks or artificial lures.
You’re also allowed to set a trotline with a maximum of 25 hooks or 8 set lines and float lines with a limit of two hooks each. You have to check the lines every 24 hours, and it’s illegal to use them in an area that’s less than 150 yards of a dam. Check for further restrictions as they might change from time to time.
Ice fishing equipment is limited to two rods and eight tip-ups, each with no more than two hooks. You can’t operate powered vehicles for ice-fishing for more than half-an-hour before sunrise and after sunset.
Your daily bag can vary a lot depending on the targeted species. If you’re after crappie, you can stop at 50, and there’s no length limit. Other species, like white bass, bullhead, bluegill, and others don’t even have a set limit.
For other species, statewide regulations set a number limit. You can harvest ten channel or blue catfish, five flathead catfish, five walleye, sauger and saugeye, five rainbow trout and brown trout and just as many black basses. That includes largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass.
You can use the limit for a single species or in combination, adding largemouth to smallmouth, for instance, to the limit of 5.
The limit is set for 2 when it comes to four other species: northern pike, striped bass, wiper, and paddlefish.
The minimum length for trout, walleye, and sauger (or hybrid) is 15 inches, while northern pike has to be at least 30 inches long to be suitable for a fisherman’s bag.
No culling is allowed in Kansas. Once you’ve reached your daily limit for one of the species, you can’t choose and replace fish. If you catch a rainbow trout and you already have 5 in your daily bag, you have to release the one you caught.
On the segment of the Missouri River that borders the states of Kansas and Missouri, there are special conservation rules. When fishing in tributaries, for instance, you need a valid license from the state through which the water flows.
You must keep you fish separately from other fishers, and you can only use barbed arrows when you’re bow-fishing in the interval between from sunrise and midnight.
Trotline and set line regulations are the same but daily limits different and there are length limitations you must comply with. Channel catfish, sauger, and walleye have to be at least 15 inches in length, while the limit for black bass is 12 inches and for paddlefish is 24. Check the creel limits, as they are different from those we’ve mentioned above.