Fisheries in Connecticut are an important aspect of the region and are under a careful observation done by professional biologists that try to keep the waters safe for the fish. Therefore, you need to understand that your love for fishing (and the use of your collapsible fishing rod) must be done in proper conditions while obeying certain rules and regulations that apply in all statewide waters.
All money collected from selling fishing license support the active programs related to the Connecticut’s fish and wildlife.
If you want to fish in the Inland District and you’re older than 16 years old, you’ll need to purchase a license that varies from $14 to $55, depending on your age level and whether you’re a resident or not. Also, there are marine recreational fishing licenses that are required for fishing from shore or from a boat in the marine district.
Most licenses for fishing are issued on a calendar basis and expire on the last day of the year, December 31st. They can be bought online at www.ct.gov/deep/fishing. In addition, you can purchase licenses from tackle, retailers, town halls meetings, and DEEP field agencies. You can find a complete list of vendors on the official Department of Energy and Environmental Protection website.
In addition to these licenses, you can purchase a combination of permits for inland fishing, marine fishing, and firearm hunting. Depending on your personal needs, there are recreational marine licenses for personal use if you want to take lobsters for your own use.
June 18th and August 12th are free fishing days when you’ll only require a one-day free license if you want to fish during that time. Furthermore, a qualified organization that wishes to conduct fishing group activities or events benefit from a special offer for group licenses.
In order to get your license, you can submit your application online. Once it’s reviewed, you’ll receive the documentation via email, without having to use the scanner or the printer.
Below you’ll find showcased some prohibited acts you must be aware of in order to maintain the natural beauty of the fishing environment:
- By no means are you allowed to move live fish from one water to another or to introduce new species that might have a negative impact on a new waterbody. If you don’t obey this rule, you risk causing reductions in popular recreational species and changes in the clarity and quality of the water.
- If you move live fish to new waterbodies you can be fined with $85 per violation, for each fish. You need to understand that if a new fish species gets established it will be extremely costly trying to remove it from the water.
- It is prohibited to possess diploid grass carp. The Fisheries Division of Connecticut inspects all ponds in order to verify that the fish can’t escape from the waters where they were stocked.
- The possession of important fish species such as piranha, walking catfish, black, silver and bighead carp, gizzard shad, and all species of snakehead (family Channidae) is prohibited.
Some other angling laws that you ought to take into account:
- For the following activities, you need are special permit: stocking fish or importing fish into the state, conducting a fish tournament or derby, and using grass carp for managing aquatic plants.
- You can’t fish in permitted swim areas unless those areas have been permitted by the state and marked with orange inscriptions.
In addition to paying fines, if a judge finds you guilty of violating these regulations you can get your license suspended. All information can be found for download on the Internet.